(in last name alphabetical order)

Joanna Barney P&C Senior Underwriter  jbarney@abais.com 216-220-1344

Joanna has over nineteen years of experience in the insurance industry, and has had multiple responsibilities within our program, including coordinating underwriting, sales and marketing activities. She has been instrumental in building and growing our P&C program since its inception. Joanna graduated with a BA in Public Relations from the University of Toledo, Ohio.

Arizma Bryant P&C Rater abryant@abais.com 216-220-1281

With over 8 years in the insurance industry, Arizma joined ABA Insurance Services in 2019. Prior to joining our P&C team, she served in various customer service roles, including member service representative, trainer, and account processor at a national insurance company. Arizma has a BS in Human Services from Post University.

Dawn Cipra Administrative Assistant dcipra@abais.com 216-220-1301

Dawn has been with our program for nearly 25 years. Previously, she worked in the hotel industry as Front Desk Clerk, Night Auditor, and Front Desk Supervisor. Dawn has an Associate’s Degree in Applied Business from Hocking College, Ohio.

Matt Craven Business Development Manager, Central Region mcraven@abais.com 216-220-1277

Matt returned to ABA Insurance Services in 2018 after spending the previous five years at a national insurance company as a Financial Institution Sales Specialist and Product Analyst. Prior to that, Matt was in our Small Business Lines group. He has over 15 years of experience in sales, marketing, and product development with a focus on Professional Lines. Matt is responsible for sales and new business development primarily in the Midwest.

Ann Farkas Associate Underwriter afarkas@abais.com 216-220-1345

Ann has been providing underwriting and account support since 2005. With a BA in Early Childhood Development from Lynchburg College, she taught pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten for 10 years..

Jason Faulkner Underwriting Manager jfaulkner@abais.com 216-220-1339

With over 25 years experience in banking and insurance, Jason is an underwriting manager for accounts in New England, Midwest and Southern states. Prior to joining our program in 2000, Jason worked for a regional Ohio-based bank and international insurance company. He graduated with a BA from Baldwin Wallace College, Ohio.

Richard G. Flenner, Jr. Business Development Manager, Western Region rflenner@abais.com 216-220-1325

With over 35 years of marketing and sales experience in insurance, Richard is responsible for sales and new business development in states west of the Mississippi River, including Illinois. Before joining our program, he was a Territory Manager for a national automobile insurance company. Richard received his MBA from Cleveland State University and his B.S. from West Chester University..

John Graham Underwriting Manager jgraham@abais.com 216-220-1337

John has over 25 years of underwriting and banking experience. He was with our program as an onsite review manager before moving to a Ohio-based national managing general agency, where he was responsible for underwriting professional liability products for publicly traded companies. John returned to our bank insurance program as an underwriter in 2010. His background also includes working in retail and commercial banking at regional banks as well as account management for a life settlement company. John graduated from Bowling Green State University, Ohio.

Dirk Hanket P&C Product Manager dhanket@abais.com 216-220-1347

Dirk joined ABA Insurance Services in 2012 as the P&C Product Manager. With over 15 years in the insurance industry, Dirk’s extensive career includes underwriting with management responsibilities at various national insurance companies. Dirk earned his BS in Business Administration from the University of Northern Colorado, Colorado.

Crystal Hardy Administrative Assistant chardy@abais.com 216-220-1303

Crystal joined our program in its infancy in 1987, diligently serving in a support capacity over the years. She is a dedicated, hard-working, team player who has shown the flexibility to work effectively on a number of underwriting teams and territories, embracing new ideas and processes. Crystal's ability to work in a fast paced environment is one of the reasons our company is able to consistently meet customer deadlines and exceed customer expectations. With her quick smile, joyful laughter and caring personality, Crystal makes ABA Insurance Services a better place to work.

Joe Haverstick Underwriting Manager jhaverstick@abais.com 216-220-1341

Prior to joining our program in 2005, Joe spent over eight years in the banking industry as a branch manager, and then as an Assistant Vice President of Private Banking, where he assisted high net worth clients with lending and investment needs. He also served as President of the Development Network Board, was a member of the Management Advisory Counsel and was a top Pinnacle Sales Award winner multiple times. Joe earned his undergraduate degree in Finance with a minor in Economics, as well as his MBA from John Carroll University, Ohio.

Chris Hobart Senior Administrative Assistant chobart@abais.com 216-220-1298

Chris is currently our highest tenured employee of the group, beginning her career with the program's inception in 1986. She is a team player who is quick to lend a hand and frequently volunteers to assist her colleagues. Chris embraces the value of great service and the need to consistently meet customer deadlines and exceed customer expectations.

Tom Hruby Underwriting Manager thruby@abais.com 216-220-1317

Tom has been with our program for over 25 years, specializing in underwriting complex accounts and onsite reviews. Previously, he was at various regional banks based in Cleveland--as a corporate loan review officer at one, and then as an Assistant Vice President in loan review and problem loan work-out at another. Tom graduated from Bucknell University, Pennsylvania, with a bachelor’s degree in Economics, and earned his MBA from Miami University, Ohio, in Management/Finance.

Gina Juhnke Vice President, P&C Program gjuhnke@abais.com 216-220-1296

Gina was instrumental in the launching and growing our bank program. She has over 30 years experience in underwriting, product management, research and development, and program management. Gina worked for the bank programfor 25 years, went to another insurance company for several years, and then rejoined our team in 2018. She currently manages our bank P&C Program.

Lisa Kelly Senior Vice President & Bank Program Director lkelly@abais.com 216-220-1296

Prior to joining ABA Insurance Services, Lisa worked for the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) as an Assistant National Bank Examiner. She joined our program as an Underwriter in 1987 and assumed Underwriting Manager responsibilities in 1990. Lisa graduated cum laude from Pennsylvania State University with a BS in Finance. 

Matt Kommel Associate Underwriter mkommel@abais.com 216-220-1324

Matt joined ABA Insurance Services in 2019. Previously, he worked as a financial advisor at an Ohio community bank. Matt also worked in the oil and gas industry at his family’s business. Matt has a BA in Finance and in Marketing from Kent State University, Ohio. 

Catherine Kopera Senior Marketing Specialist ckopera@abais.com 216-220-1321

With a career grounded in marketing and communications, Catherine has over 20 years of experience in the insurance industry. Before ABA Insurance Services, she started as a Product Specialist at a national auto insurer, which included customer service, claims support and product analysis for the CPI/BVSI program. Catherine joined our Professional Liability Group in 2002, where her responsibilities included coordination of the program’s marketing, advertising, design, communication and branding efforts. She has a B.S. in advertising with a minor in graphic design from Kent State University, Ohio.

Lisa Micciche Assistant Vice President lmicciche@abais.com 216-220-1296

Lisa is responsible for product development, claims, and competitive analysis. With 15 years of underwriting, financial and management experience in the insurance industry, she has held the positions of Senior Underwriter and Accounting Manager within our company. She is also a licensed CPA and a member of the Society for Financial Professionals. Lisa graduated cum laude from Purdue University with a B.S. in Accounting.

Eric Nelson Associate Underwriter enelson@abais.com 216-220-1324

Originally a hotel manager, Eric joined the ABA Insurance Services team in 2012 after a year in the personal lines division of a national insurance company based in Cleveland. Eric handles accounts in our professional liability & bond program, as well in our STAMP Medallion program, and broker and excess lines. 

Ann Pike Underwriting Manager apike@abais.com 216-220-1308

Ann has been a commercial lines underwriter for over 25 years, including 8 years underwriting Environmental Liability, Business Auto, General Liability, Workers Compensation and Umbrella/Excess lines for an international insurance company. She currently focuses on our more complex accounts and on managing top producing agency relationships for the bank program. Ann earned her BS from Ursuline College, Ohio.

Michael Poremba Brokerage Manager mporemba@abais.com 216-220-1318

Michael joined our program in 1987 as an underwriter for California, Texas and New England. He was promoted to Onsite Review Manager in 1989 and Senior Loss Control Manager in 2010. In addition, Michael heads up our bank program brokerage lines, offering Excess D&O, Side A DIC, and Excess FIB. His prior experience includes 2 years as Loan Review Officer with a Cleveland-based regional bank and 6 years as National Bank Examiner with the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. Mike received his BSBA with a major in Finance, from John Carroll University, Ohio. He also received his graduate degree in banking from Stonier. 

Michael Read Divisional Vice President, Business Development mread@abais.com 216-220-1319

Mike is responsible for all revenue generating activities, including new customer acquisition, demand generation and agent experience.  Previously, he held leadership positions in underwriting, customer relations, marketing and sales at Progressive Insurance as part of the Professional Liability Group. Mike began his career as a lending officer at a large commercial bank. He holds a Bachelor’s in Economics from Hiram College, a Master’s in Public Administration from Indiana University, and an MBA from the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University.

Bill Shero, RPLU Senior Underwriting Manager bshero@abais.com 216-220-1307

Bill has been with our program over 25 years, starting as an underwriter and obtaining the designation of RPLU (Registered Professional Liability Underwriter). He primarily focuses on the unique exposures relative to large financial institutions (over $2 billion) in assets, key agency relationships and new business development. He earned his BS in Finance from the University of Dayton and MBA from Kent State University, Ohio.

Christine Smierciak Supervisory P&C Underwriter csmierciak@abais.com 216-220-1312

Christine has 15 years of experience in the insurance industry. Her insurance career began in compliance before assuming underwriting responsibilities for the financial institution program and STAMP program administration.She has been underwriting P&C for financial institutions for close to ten years.  Christine earned her BA from Miami University and is earning her CPCU. 

Jim Trimpe, CPCU Underwriting Manager jtrimpe@abais.com 216-220-1340

Jim is a seasoned banking and insurance veteran who joined our program in 1989 after previously working as a bank examiner with the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland. He earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Toledo, Ohio, and his MBA from John Carroll University, Ohio. Jim maintains the designation of CPCU (Chartered Property & Casualty Underwriter). 

Lisa Weltman P&C Associate Underwriter lweltman@abais.com 216-220-1296

With 20 years experience as an insurance agent, Lisa joined ABA Insurance Services in 2017, bringing firsthand knowledge and understanding of the responsibilities and needs of insurance agencies. In addition to policy rating on new and renewal accounts, Lisa also assists with underwriting small accounts. 

Patricia P. Williams, CPCU Business Development Manager, Eastern Region pwilliams@abais.com 216-220-1280

Pat has over 30 years in the insurance industry, including 14 years with an international insurance carrier as a Financial Services Executive and as a Regional Practice Leader for the Northeast and MidAtlantic regions. Pat earned her BS in Mass Communications from Towson University, Maryland.